The law provides that all citizens 18 years of age or older, who are residents for at least 30 days of the state and of the city, town or county in which they are called for jury duty, and who are citizens of the United States are eligible for jury service. Effective October 1, 2007 jurors are selected from a combined list of registered voters, licensed drivers and holders of Montana ID cards. The jury service term commences July 1st and ends June 30th of each year.
Montana law requires that you fill out the questionnaire and return it to the Clerk of Court. If jury service would cause undue hardship, an affidavit for excuse from jury service may be completed. The judge will review the request and you will be notified of the decision.
The notice of jury service is not a summons to report. When jurors are drawn to serve on a specific trial, notification will be sent by mail. Many times after jurors have been selected for a particular case, the case is settled before the time to report. Notification will be provided when this occurs to avoid having to report.
By avoiding all possible inconvenience to you, your family and your employer, we believe experience as a juror will be interesting and rewarding.
Applicants must be at least 16-years old to be married in the State of Montana.
40-1-213 MCA (1) The district court may order the clerk of district court to issue a marriage license and a marriage certificate form to a party 16 or 17 years of age who has no parent capable of consenting to the party’s marriage or has the consent of both parties or the parent having the actual care, parenting authority and control to the party’s marriage, The court must require both parties to participate in a period of marriage counseling involving at least two (2) separate counseling sessions not less than ten (10) days apart with a designated counselor as a condition of the order for issuance of a marriage license
Applicants must be 18-years old, or older, to be married without the consent of parents or a legal guardian, and the District Court Judge.
A rubella test is required only for females. Those who are over the age of 50 or those whose doctors certify that they are incapable of bearing children are exempt. Although the rubella test is still required, the test can be waived upon the approval of both parties.
Proof of age is required. Current driver’s license, MT ID card or passport will work.
Certified copy of birth certificate is required.
If previously married – a copy of divorce decree or death certificate, however the marriage was dissolved.
FEE: $53.00 cash, no checks or credit cards accepted.
Copyright © 2010 - Custer County Montana. Website by Morrison-Maierle Systems Corp.